​Module 4: Asian Philosophy- Confucianism

This week’s topic on Confucianism brought back so many memories most especially when I was still in junior high school when Asian History was served to us for the whole year. At that time, Confucius is part of the topic as one of the most influential Asian philosophers during his time. Yes, I can still remember when one of my classmates would often make comments or giving us reminders on what Confucius said that “Don’t do other what you don’t want others to do unto you”. This simple verse coming from Confucius was already a big deal for us for we are very aware of the importance of morality and values in our society. Funny, but we sometimes compare our conduct to those who study in Catholic schools in our community for it seems that we are more conscious of our actions than them. It is big deal in our school to conduct in a manner that is acceptable in the eyes of the public and we are much more aware of the consequences or punishments that we might gain in the future if we don’t follow rules in schools.

When I encountered “moral uprightness” in the readings under Confucianism, it suddenly hit me big time for it somehow gave me a big realization on my part. I know that a year from now, I will be teaching in a public school in this country and I know the big responsibility that I might be holding as a teacher. When Confucius said that whatever actions that our public officials exhibit may influence or reform others that is why he wanted people to have a conscious effort to be morally upright for this can greatly affect the society that we live in. He is indeed right with his statement and observation with those people who are holding a higher power in the society. With what we are seeing in the televisions just like a famous politician who has a video scandal and her alleged relationship with her driver. Indeed, it got so much attention in the public but I have to say that this public official deserve all this since we can’t help but ask where is “moral uprightness” in that kind of situation that she currently faces in? I know that she should set a good example but what she did was the total opposite and she has a lot of explaining to do for this matter.

 

To practice benevolence is the ultimate goal of education;

To practice benevolence, one has able not to impose one self does not desire.

The cultivation of the way is to be done through humanity and the cultivation of the way is education itself.

Therefore; Benevolence and Humanity is the ultimate goal of education.

 

I can’t help but ponder on the above statements most especially on practicing benevolence. For me, it has been a great concern on my part of whether or not I would insist on my own values and beliefs to other people. With what Confucius clearly says on benevolence opened my eyes to a realization that it is never good to insist on your own for we might end up hurting other people instead of helping them in seeing a much clearer decisions or visions in their life.

“Education for all” as one of the strengths of Confucius educational method. When I saw this part as one his method, it instantly gave me a relief and I thanked God that he is one of the people who see the greater value of education not only to those who belong to the upper class of our society but most importantly those in the lower class or the poor.  I cannot imagine living in a society wherein equality for all is not given. I ponder on this and told myself that Confucius is one of the first idealists in China for he already envision a society living in fairness and justice. I am just glad that his educational method was valued not only during his lifetime but most importantly even up to this very day.

It was also mentioned under the Confucianism’s educational method about adopting self-enlightenment. If I’m not mistaken, it was during our senior year in high school in 2004 that we do have the so-called retreat. As expected, the retreat was a process for us that we have to undergo when we wanted to fully express our anger, anxieties, and problems in this world. I can still remember that there was this part that one of our classmates can give us advises with the problems that we are facing and it felt good from within for it made you feel that you are not alone in dealing this problem in life and just like you, they too have encountered it and was able to overcome due to reason that they didn’t give up the fight. I know from then on, I am not alone in facing my problems and I’m glad that the said retreat made me practice “self-control or self-analysis” when confronted to do so.

There was this famous saying from Confucius when he said that “choose a job that you love, and you will never have to work in a day in your life”.  In all honesty, I didn’t know that this saying comes from him originally and this gives me strength and reason on why I choose to take educational units in teaching in the first place. I already express my interest on why I choose teaching and I’m glad that with all the hardships that I’ve been through to finish this course, I can really say that I have finally chosen the job that was meant for me. That means I have a chosen a job that doesn’t felt that I’m working all day. In fact, I am having a great time doing this and I hope that a year from now, I can call myself a full-pledge teacher.

 

REFERENCES:

Confucius’ Educational Thought. (n.d.). Available at www.ct.taipei.gov.tw/multimedia/resources/file/346_2_88_20110406174627.pdf

Huanyin, Y. (1993). Confucius (K’ung Tzu). In Prospects, 23 (1-2), 211-219. Available at http://www.ibe.unesco.org/International/Publications/Thinkers/ThinkersPdf/confucie.PDF

 

 

Leave a Reply

